Will I Lose My Driver's License?
At the time of your arrest, your arresting officer will confiscate your license and give you a temporary driving permit. This temporary license lasts for 30 days and is designed to last until your DUI trial. If your trial date is delayed, your temporary driving privileges could be extended.
From the time of the arrest, you have 10 days to formally request a hearing with the DMV in which you can contest the suspension. This is completely independent of the criminal case. If convicted, you could lose your license regardless of the outcome of the DMV hearing.
California has administrative per se (APS) laws. This is what allows police to revoke your driving privileges immediately upon arrest. This could be overturned at your DMV hearing or court hearing. If you are convicted for driving under the influence, your license will be suspended. Learn more about California license suspension lengths. You can also contact our firm to learn more about restricted driving privileges.