Out-of-State DUI Lawyer in Los Angeles
Were You Arrested for DUI while Visiting Los Angeles, CA?
Driving under the influence (DUI) is illegal in every state, and in every state, the legal limit is .08 percent. DUI might be called by a different name from state to state, such as OVI, OUI, or DWI, but it is the same crime. The only way DUIs differ from state to state is how they are punished.
If you currently live in another state and were arrested for DUI in California, you may face penalties both in California and your home state. California and 44 other states are a part of the International Driver's License Compact, wherein these states have agreed on the principle: "One Driver, One License, One Record." These states share information about a person's driving record.
All states participate in the DLC with the exception of:
If you are arrested for DUI and are convicted in California, you can expect your home state to impose DMV penalties as well. For example, they can suspend your license.
If you are an out-of-state resident who was arrested for drunk driving while visiting Los Angeles, contact Gold & Witham for help. Initial consultations are free when you call (800) 716-6791.
Gold & Witham Can Help You Fight a California DUI
If you have been arrested for DUI in Los Angeles or the surrounding areas—and yet live in another state—you will need a Los Angeles DUI lawyer on your side. At Gold & Witham, our attorneys understand how to help drivers with an out-of-state license fight their DUI in California.
In fact, in most misdemeanor DUI cases, our firm may be able to represent you without your presence. This means that you may be able to go home and let Gold & Witham handle the entire DUI process. Because our firm has a thorough understanding of California law as it applies to driving under the influence cases, we can effectively build a defense in your favor.
Legal Repercussions of DUI for Out-of-State Residents
Regardless of what state you live in, if you are arrested for DUI in California and do not have a California driver's license, the arresting officer cannot confiscate your home state license.
Instead, he or she will issue you a slip of paper that states your California driving privileges will be suspended in 30 days. From the date of your arrest, you have 10 days to schedule a DMV hearing with the California Department of Motor Vehicles in order to contest the suspension.
Additionally, the California DMV will inform your home state's motor vehicle department of your arrest and conviction if that state is a part of the Driver's License Compact. If you are convicted, your home state can impose any and all applicable penalties to your driver's license.
The likelihood of being able to continue to drive in California can be increased with the help of an out-of-state DUI lawyer. There are certain conditions under which the suspension can be waived. Even if you have an out-of-state license, you still will be facing serious criminal penalties.
A conviction can mean serious consequences for you, including jail time and steep fines, as well as mandated treatment programs and community service. It is crucial that you have legal counsel to protect your rights in the California courts. Let the team at Gold & Witham defend your rights.