Wet Reckless DUI Defense in Los Angeles
Reducing DUI Charges with a Wet Reckless Plea Bargain
If you have been arrested for DUI, and your attorney believes that a case dismissal or not guilty verdict is unlikely, they may have you plead "wet reckless," which is a charge reduction. By pleading wet reckless, you essentially say you are guilty of reckless driving involving alcohol.
Is a Wet and Reckless a Misdemeanor in California?
In California, "wet reckless" is sometimes used as a plea bargain for charges of driving under the influence (DUI). This plea carries less criminal penalty than a standard DUI conviction, but it still comes with the possibility of some serious consequences. If accepted, a wet reckless conviction will be treated as a misdemeanor offense and may include fines and/or jail time. Additionally, an individual convicted of wet reckless may still face license suspension, even if their original DUI charge was dismissed.
Contact us today at (800) 716-6791 to schedule your free consultation.
Can a Wet Reckless Plea Apply to a DUI Involving Drugs?
Judges may accept wet reckless as a plea for drug-related DUI offenses. The "wet" in wet reckless does not always have to mean alcohol. Pleading wet reckless simply means you want a reduction of your charges – typically, the charge you are pleading to is California Vehicle Code § 23103.
What Are the Benefits of Pleading Wet Reckless?
There are still criminal penalties for wet reckless, but the major advantage is that it is not treated as a DUI. This means that the wet reckless charge does not factor into sentencing enhancements for multiple DUIs within 10 years. For example, if you were convicted of wet reckless and then five years later were convicted of DUI, you would receive the sentence of a first-time DUI offender.
Another benefit to pleading wet reckless is that the maximum jail sentence is not as severe. With DUI, you could be sentenced to six months in jail for a first offense. With wet reckless, at most, you would have to serve 90 days in jail. In many cases, however, probation is ordered in lieu of jail.
Wet Reckless and License Suspension
With a DUI, you face administrative per se (APS) license suspension unless you are successful at a DMV hearing. With wet reckless, your license is not automatically suspended.
However, California does have a driver's license point system. If you accrue enough points, your license could be suspended. Accruing four points in a years' time could warrant six months of license suspension. If you plead wet reckless, two points will be added to your record.
Your license can also be suspended for accruing:
- Six points in 24 months
- Eight points in 36 months
If you were arrested for drunk driving, secure the aggressive defense you need by calling a Los Angeles wet reckless attorney at our firm. Gold & Witham has more than 40 years of experience and can walk you through your case. Call us at (800) 716-6791 to get started today.
Call today for a free DUI consultation.